The Robert Ellery Lectureship

The ASA recognises outstanding contributions in astronomy or a related field by the award of Robert Ellery Lectureships. Robert Ellery was Director of Melbourne Observatory for much of the second half of the 19th century, and one of the outstanding workers in Australian astronomy in that era.

In awarding the Robert Ellery Lectureship, the Council may give particular attention to contributions, or relevance, to astronomy in the southern hemisphere. Nevertheless, the award may be made for contributions in any branch of astronomy or a related field. The recipient of the Lectureship is invited to present a keynote lecture at the Annual Scientific Meeting of the Society, or another approriate time, and also receives a monetary prize.

Previous recipients of the Robert Ellery Lectureship

Professor Don Mathewson (Mount Stromlo and Siding Spring Observatories)
Dr Dick Manchester (Australia Telescope National Facility)
Dr Dick Hunstead (University of Sydney)
Dr Ron Ekers (Australia Telescope National Facility)
Professor John Storey (University of New South Wales)
Professor Ken Freeman (Australian National University)
Professor Don Melrose (University of Sydney)
Professor John Davis (University of Sydney)

Nominations for the next award should be submitted to the ASA Council through one of the ASA Secretaries.

Back to top