This loads a font easier to read for people with dyslexia.
This renders the document in high contrast mode.
This renders the document as white on black
This can help those with trouble processing rapid screen movements.


Nominations for User and Time Assignment Committees

Members of the Australian astronomical community are invited to nominate for positions on the Australia Telescope User Committee (ATUC) and Time Allocation Committee (TAC) of the Australia Telescope National Facility (ATNF).

CSIRO strives for diverse and inclusive representation in all its activities, including ATUC and TAC membership. We encourage anyone from a currently under-represented group to submit an expression of interest as we would greatly value their input in shaping the future of ATNF and acknowledge the historical absence of those perspectives.

Below please find an outline of the vacant positions and a brief summary of each committee. The closing date for nominations is Friday 14 April 2023.

*Australia Telescope User Committee (ATUC)*
ATUC is a group of ten to fifteen scientists, including two student members, that represents the users of the Australia Telescope National Facility. ATUC meetings are a forum for users to raise any issues regarding the operation of the facility and to suggest changes to its operation. ATUC also discusses and recommends priorities for ATNF future development plans. ATUC meets twice a year, usually in April and October. Members are appointed for a term of three years, with student members being appointed for one year (two meetings). New members will join ATUC beginning at its October 2023 meeting.

More information:

*ATNF Time Assignment Committee (TAC)*
The TAC is the committee that reviews and grades proposals for time on the Parkes radio telescope, Murriyang, Australia Telescope Compact Array and Long Baseline Array, and host country time on antennas of the Canberra Deep Space Communication Complex at Tidbinbilla. From the next semester, the TAC will also review proposals for Guest Science Projects on ASKAP. The TAC meets twice a year, generally in early February and late July. Members are appointed for a term of three years. New members will join the TAC beginning at its July 2023 meeting. Due to the addition of ASKAP Guest Science Projects, we are seeking to expand the ATNF TAC membership as well as to replace TAC members who have completed their terms. For this reason, we would welcome Expressions of Interest from researchers across all fields and would particularly encourage applications from those with expertise in the fields of pulsars, transients and variable sources, radio galaxies and AGN, and polarisation. Applicants are also encouraged to indicate if they would like to be considered as a candidate for the role of TAC Chair.

More information:

*Next steps*
Nominees are asked to send their name, affiliation, and a <100-word summary of their specialisation to Amanda Gray (<mailto:Amanda.Gray at>) by Friday 14 April 2023. Please include in the subject line of your email which committee you are interested in.

ATUC and the TAC are sub-committees of the ATNF Steering Committee (ATSC). At its May meeting, the ATSC will review nominations for membership, taking into consideration the range of specialisations and experience required for effective operation of its sub-committees.

For further information, please contact George Heald (<mailto:George.Heald at>).

Added by Gabby Russell on 2023-03-29

More in General category
More news