Brian Boyle

Dr Brian Boyle

CSIRO SKA Director

Dr Brian Boyle completed his PhD at the University of Durham in the UK. He held positions at the University of Edinburgh; the Anglo-Australian Observatory; the University of Cambridge; was Director of the Anglo-Australian Observatory (1996 to 2003) and Director of CSIRO Australia Telescope National Facility (2003 to 2009) before his appointment to CSIRO SKA Director in February 2009. Dr Boyle has published more than 300 papers in astronomy.

His primary research interests are in the fields of quasars, active galaxies and cosmology. While at the AAO he led the 2dF QSO redshift survey program, and is currently involved in the Australia Telescope Large Area Survey (ATLAS). He plays a major role both nationally and internationally in the Square Kilometre Array (SKA) program; a project to build the world’s largest cm-wavelength radio telescope.

Awards (since 2000)

  • Jan 2000: Appointed Adjunct Professor, University of NSW
  • April 2003: Centenary Medal for “services to Australian astronomy"
  • Sep 2005: Awarded Fellowship Australian Institute of Company Directors
  • May 2006: Elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science
  • Dec 2006: Elected Honorary Fellow of the Royal Astronomical Society
  • Sep 2007: 2007 Gruber Cosmology Prize (shared)

Senior Committees (since 2000)

  • 1996-present: National Committee for Astronomy (Chairman 2004-06)
  • 2003-2008: International SKA steering committee (Chairman 2006-08)
  • 2007-present Australia/New Zealand SKA Coordination Committee


Contact Details

Brian Boyle
Australia Telescope National Facility
PO Box 76
Epping NSW 1710
Phone: +61-2-9372-4300
Fax: +61-2-9372-4310

Staff space