A T N F    D a i l y    A s t r o n o m y    P i c t u r e

24th of April 2019
The Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) was established in 1926 and was the forerunner to CSIRO. It was not until 1949 that the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) was formed. The Division of Radiophysics was established in 1940 and was first headquartered at the University of Sydney, before moving to the Sydney suburb of Marsfield in the 1960s. As illustrated above, the historic Madsen Building at the University of Sydney still bears witness to its former occupants. The National Standards Laboratory was also part of CSIR/CSIRO, becoming the National Measurement Laboratory in 1974, which then became part of the National Measurement Institute in 2004.

As Thursday 25th April is the ANZAC day public holiday in Australia, the next ADAP will be Friday 26th April.

<<   |   archive   |   about   |   today   *   ATNF   |   Parkes   |   ATCA   |   Mopra   |   VLBI   |   ASKAP   |   >>