A T N F    D a i l y    A s t r o n o m y    P i c t u r e

29th of January 2019
Australia Day Honours
The Australian honours system recognises the efforts and achievements of Australian citizens, with awards traditionally being announced on Australia Day, January 26th. This year, Ron Ekers and Elaine Sadler were made Officers in the Order of Australia (AO). Ron's award is for "distinguished service to science as a radio astronomer, to scientific education, and to astronomical and international organisations" and Elaine's award is for "distinguished service to science as an astrophysicist, in the field of galaxy evolution, and to gender equality." Our congratulations to them both! More details are are given in the full list of Australia Day Honours.

<<   |   archive   |   about   |   today   *   ATNF   |   Parkes   |   ATCA   |   Mopra   |   VLBI   |   ASKAP   |   >>