A T N F    D a i l y    A s t r o n o m y    P i c t u r e

2nd of June 2022
Matthew Bailes elected to Australian Academy of Science
Each year the Australian Academy of Science elects up to 24 new Fellows. Incoming President of the AAS, Professor Chennupati Jagadish noted, "Fellows of the Australian Academy of Science are among the nation’s most distinguished scientists, elected by their peers for ground-breaking research and contributions that have had clear impact." One of the new fellows elected this year is long-time ATNF telescope user, Matthew Bailes. Matthew's citation reads: "Matthew Bailes is an astrophysicist who has specialised in the study of pulsars, transient radio bursts and gravitation, making major contributions to establishing Australia’s high international profile in these areas. In particular, he has played a pivotal role in the development of a new branch of astrophysics, Fast Radio Bursts, guiding projects that led to Australia’s dominance of the field. He established the Swinburne University Centre for Astrophysics and Supercomputing, recognised internationally as a centre for astrophysics and virtual-reality content for public outreach." (Image credit: Australian Academy of Science)

<<   |   archive   |   about   |   today   *   ATNF   |   Parkes   |   ATCA   |   Mopra   |   VLBI   |   ASKAP   |   >>