A T N F    D a i l y    A s t r o n o m y    P i c t u r e

24th of June 2022
New Chair appointed to Australia Telescope Steering Committee
Professor Tara Murphy has been appointed Chair of the ATNF Steering Committee for the next three years. An Australian astronomer based at The University of Sydney and an Executive member of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Gravitational Wave Discovery (OzGrav) Executive, Professor Murphy's research focuses on radio transients and she co-leads the Variables And Slow Transients (VAST) survey team using the ASKAP radio telescope. Since the early 2000s Professor Murphy has conducted several major projects using the ATNF telescopes, including the Australia Telescope Compact Array (ATCA) and the Parkes radio telescope, Murriyang, and now ASKAP. Professor Murphy's career highlights include observing as a post-doc in the Australia Telescope 20GHz Survey team and, in 2017, using ATCA to detect radio emission from the first neutron star merger. Professor Murphy succeeds Dr David Skellern AO, who served on the Steering Committee for five years, three of those as Chair.

<<   |   archive   |   about   |   today   *   ATNF   |   Parkes   |   ATCA   |   Mopra   |   VLBI   |   ASKAP   |   >>