A T N F    D a i l y    A s t r o n o m y    P i c t u r e

15th of March 2024
A group of people around the IEEE plaque, with the Tidbinbilla 70m antenna in the background.
IEEE Milestone award for CDSCC
A ceremony was held at the Canberra Deep Space Communication Complex (CDSCC) recently for the presentation of an IEEE Milestone award, recognising the achievements of Deep Space Station 43 in space exploration. The milestone covers the time range from its beginnings in 1972, to 1987 when it was upgraded from a 64 metre to 70m antenna. Pictured in the image above are Lance Fung (IEEE Region Director, Asia Pacific), Glen Nagle (CDSCC), Kevin Ferguson (CDSCC Director), Kathleen Kramer (IEEE President, USA), Ambarish Natu (Immediate past Chair IEEE, ACT). Approximately 25 members from the local IEEE Branch were in attendance, together with representatives from the US Embassy and the Australian Space Agency. A similar award was presented to the Parkes Observatory in 2019.

<<   |   archive   |   about   |   today   *   ATNF   |   Parkes   |   ATCA   |   Mopra   |   VLBI   |   ASKAP   |   >>