The ATNF Steering Committee

The Australia Telescope Steering Committee (ATSC) provides advice to the ATNF Director on the scientific and technical operations of the ATNF. Committee members are appointed by the Minister for Industry.

The ATSC includes three Australian astronomers, three overseas experts and two representatives from the broader community. In addition, there are three ex-officio members (not appointed by the Minister).

Membership of the ATSC to December 2013 is listed below.


Prof Rachel Webster, University of Melbourne



Dr Warrick Couch, Director, Australian Astronomical Observatory

Dr Dave Williams, Group Executive, CSIRO Information Sciences Group, CSIRO

Dr Bronwyn Harch, Chief, CSIRO Computational Informatics CSIRO Computational Informatics


Prof Steven Tingay, Curtin University

Prof Rachel Webster, University of Melbourne

Prof Brian Schmidt, Research School of Astronomy & Astrophysics, ANU

International Advisers

Dr Di Li,Chinese Academy of Sciences , China

Prof Raffaella Morganti, ASTRON , the Netherlands

Prof Neal Evans University of Texas at Austin, USA

Broader Community

Mr Noel Wainwright, Lockheed Martin

Mr Jim Noble, Department of Defence (retired)