A T N F    D a i l y    A s t r o n o m y    P i c t u r e

15th of July 2019
50th anniversary of Apollo 11
Apollo 11, with crew Neil Armstrong, Edwin "Buzz" Aldrin, and Michael Collins, was launched by a Saturn V rocket on July 16th, 1969 from the Kennedy Space Centre in Florida. The spacecraft was made up of three parts: the service module (SM), the command module (CM), and the lunar module (LM) that in turn had two stages – a descent stage for landing on the Moon, and an ascent stage to bring Armstrong and Aldrin back to the CM in lunar orbit. This week sees the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 mission and moonwalk celebrated around the world, including the Honeysuckle Creek tracking station, Canberra, and the Parkes Observatory. (Image credit: NASA)

<<   |   archive   |   about   |   today   *   ATNF   |   Parkes   |   ATCA   |   Mopra   |   VLBI   |   ASKAP   |   >>