A T N F    D a i l y    A s t r o n o m y    P i c t u r e

23rd of December 2020
UK ratifies SKA Convention
The United Kingdom has ratified the Convention to establish the SKA Observatory (SKAO). The Convention stipulates that at least five nations, including the three host countries – Australia, South Africa and the UK – must ratify the text for it to enter into force. The UK’s ratification, following that of its two fellow host countries and founding members Italy, the Netherlands and Portugal, means SKAO can now formally be established. SKAO is the intergovernmental organisation responsible for building and operating the SKA telescopes, which together will form the world’s largest radio telescope and will enable scientists to study the universe in more detail than ever before. The first meeting of the SKAO Council, the Observatory’s governing body representing Member States, is expected to take place in early 2021. The image above is a certified copy of the SKA Observatory Convention which is held at SKAO Headquarters in the UK. The original is held at the UK’s Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office, the depository of the Convention. (Image credit: SKA Organisation)

<<   |   archive   |   about   |   today   *   ATNF   |   Parkes   |   ATCA   |   Mopra   |   VLBI   |   ASKAP   |   >>