A T N F    D a i l y    A s t r o n o m y    P i c t u r e

4th of July 2022
ASA's Peter McGregor Prize awarded to ASKAP Team
The Peter McGregor Prize is awarded by the Astronomical Society of Australia (ASA) in recognition of the design, invention or improvement of astronomical instrumentation and associated software techniques that have enabled significant advances in any areas of astronomy. The prize is normally awarded every three years.

This year the Prize was awarded to CSIRO’s ASKAP team for the development of the wide-field Phased Array Feeds the telescope employs. Each of the 36 dishes is equipped with a phased array feed with 188 individual receivers in a chequerboard arrangement. With a 30-square-degree field of view for each dish it can take panoramic snapshots more than 100 times the size of the full Moon. The Prize recognises the efforts of more than 100 engineers and researchers. The image above shows the Chair of the Scientific Organising Committee, Krzysztof Bolejko, presenting ASKAP Project Scientist, Aidan Hotan, with the award. (Image credit: John Reynolds)

<<   |   archive   |   about   |   today   *   ATNF   |   Parkes   |   ATCA   |   Mopra   |   VLBI   |   ASKAP   |   >>