Welcome to IAU Commission 40 for Radio Astronomy. Commission 40 is part of IAU Division B for Facilities, Technologies and Data Science.

Commission 40 brings together scientists and engineers who carry out observational and theoretical research in radio astronomy and who develop and operate the ground and space-based radio astronomy facilities and instrumentation that are used to explore the universe at radio wavelengths.

IAU Commission Reform

In June 2014 the IAU issued an announcement on a plan for reforming the IAU Commissions:

Commission Reform: Call for Proposals for Commissions Issued.

This plan includes a call for proposals and the selection of new Commissions. All current Commissions will cease and, following a selection process, new Commissions will begin at the IAU General Assembly in August 2015.

IAU Commission 40 for Radio Astronomy was first established in 1948. In 1997 it became the only Commission in Division X, and in 2012 it became part of the new Division B. As at June 2014 this Commission has approximately 1140 members from 49 countries. Clearly, the discipline of radio astronomy has changed very significantly since 1948! The reform process provides an opportunity to review the goals of a Commission for radio astronomy and to consider how activities carried out through this can best meet the needs of its broad membership.

A letter of intent for a 'new' Commission for Radio Astronomy has now been submitted to the IAU. See the C40 news for further information.