George Hobbs’ Home Page

Research scientist at the CSIRO Astronomy and Space Sciences supported by an Australian Research Council QEII Fellowship.

The PULSE@Parkes project allows high school students to carry out observations of pulsars using the Parkes 64-m radio telescope from anywhere in the world.

Overview of PULSE@Parkes
Application form
Student data archive

Hobbs et al. (2009) “The PULSE@Parkes Project: a New Observing Technique for Long-Term Pulsar Monitoring”, PASA, 26, 468

With students in Sydney controlling the Parkes radio telescope. Credit: R. Hollow, CSIRO

The Australian Square Kilometre Array Pathfinder telescope under construction in Western Australia will be used to search for, and study, pulsars. 

The COAST website

The Parkes Pulsar Timing Array project aims to 1) make the first direct detection of gravitational waves, 2) develop a pulsar-based time standard and 3) search for errors in the Solar System planetary ephemeris.

Main Parkes Pulsar Timing Array website

International Pulsar Timing Array website

Hobbs et al. (2009), “Gravitational-wave detection using pulsars: status of the Parkes Pulsar Timing Array Project”, PASA, 26, 103

The TEMPO2 software package is used for online and offline pulsar data analysis. 

Download site

Email distribution list

TEMPO2 tutorials


Main TEMPO2 wiki

Tempo2 paper 1: Hobbs, Edwards & Manchester (2006)

Tempo2 paper 2: Edwards, Hobbs & Manchester (2006)

The Australia Telescope National Facility (ATNF) Pulsar Catalogue provides access to the basic timing properties for all published pulsars. The Parkes pulsar data archive makes almost all pulsar observatons carried out at Parkes available online.

PSRCAT website

Parkes pulsar data archive

Room 87B, CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science, PO Box 76, Epping, NSW, 1710, Australia

Ph: (02) 9372 4652, Email:



I have supervised, or co-supervised, the following students:
  • Aaron Annuscheit
  • Alberto Mata
  • Brendan Orenstein
  • Caterina Tiburzi (2015)
  • Chaitanya Shettigara
  • Dai Shi
  • Daniel Reardon
  • Daniel Surucic (2016)
  • Deng Xinping
  • Dustin Madison
  • Jingbo Wang
  • John Lopez
  • Kobi Zamora-Pullin
  • Kristina Kopychynski (2016)
  • Lachlan Marnoch (2016)
  • Lei Zhang (2015+)
  • Lin Li (2015)
  • Niu Zexi (2016)
  • Stefan Oslowski
  • Stephanie Douglas
  • Vikram Ravi
  • Will Kunert
  • Xingjiang Zhu
  • Zhichen Pan (2015)