ASKAP Early Science Workshop - August 2013

Three ASKAP antennas at the Murchison Radio-astronomy Observatory against a sunrise backdrop.

ASKAP Early Science is a program of observations designed to explore new scientific parameter-space with ASKAP before the construction of the array is complete. The early science program will consist of a series of science-focused observations, carried out by the ASKAP commissioning and early science team.

Community consultation on the scope of ASKAP early science is now taking place.

An all-day workshop on ASKAP Early Science will take place on 5 August 2013 between 9.30am and 4.30pm at the Marsfield headquarters of CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science. This workshop will provide a forum for astronomy community input into the ASKAP Early Science program. A full rationale for ASKAP early science (PDF, 3.0MB) is available.


Talks are allotted 15 minutes plus 5 minutes for questions. A full list with abstracts is available (PDF, 0.1MB).

Morning Session

09:30 – 09:50 Lisa Harvey-Smith & Aidan Hotan
Welcome / Scope / Technical Background

09:50 - 10:10 Baerbel Koribalski
HI Early Science: setting the scene, from now to ASKAP-12 and beyond

10:10 - 10:30 Martin Meyer
Multiwavelength science in the DINGO/GAMA regions: studying the evolving HI universe to z=0.4

10:30 - 10:50 Ivy Wong
Studying pre-processing of galaxies during cluster formation with ASKAP-12

10:50 - 11:10 Tobias Westmeier
Influence of the environment on galaxy evolution

11:10 - 11:30 Elaine Sadler
HI absorption-line science: the exciting opportunities with ASKAP-12

11:30 - 11:50 Ray Norris
Early Continuum Science with ASKAP

11:50 - 12:10 Bryan Gaensler
Early Polarisation Science with ASKAP

12:10 - 12:30 Professor Brian Schmidt will lead a discussion between SST astronomers and the ASKAP team

12:30 - 13:00 Lunch (Provided for visitors in the canteen)

Afternoon Session

13:00 – 13:20 Larry Rudnick
Double Agents: Extragalactic pairs in an early science program

13:20 - 13:40 Michael Brown
ASKAP Continuum Surveys of Local Galaxies

13:40 - 14:00 Nick Seymour
Spectro-polarmetric Properties of Powerful Radio Galaxies

14:00 - 14:20 Shane O’Sullivan
Measuring the distribution of thermal gas within the giant lobes of Cen A

14:20 - 14:40 Takuya Akahori
Early Polarisation Science with ASKAP - Galactic Pole

14:40 – 15:00 Tara Murphy
Radio transients and variability with ASKAP-12

15:00 Tea/Coffee

15:20 - 15:40 Chris Phillips
VLBI with ASKAP-12

15:40 - 16:00 J-P Macquart
Location, Location, Location: Fast Radio Bursts with ASKAP-12

16:00 – 16:30 Professor Anne Green will lead a discussion between SST astronomers and the ASKAP team

16:30 Close

Registered parcipants

Martin Bell, University of Sydney
Andrew Walsh, Curtin University
Tom Jarrett, University of Cape Town
Andrew Hopkins, AAO
Sergei Gulyaev, AUT
Xiaohui Sun, University of Sydney
J-P Macquart, Curtin University
Miroslav Filipovic, UWS
Michael Brown, Monash University
Bryan Gaensler, CAASTRO/U. Sydney
Chris Springob, UWA
Jun Koda, Swinburne
Barbara Catinella, Swinburne
Elaine Sadler, University of Sydney
Tara Murphy, University of Sydney
Sarah Reeves, University of Sydney
Jamie Farnes, University of Sydney
Lister Staveley-Smith, UWA
Shane O’Sullivan, University of Sydney
Takuya Akahori, University of Sydney
Tobias Westmeier, UWA
Ian Morison, UNSW
Cormac Purcell, University of Sydney
James Allison, University of Sydney
Steve Curran, University of Sydney
Martin Meyer, UWA
Attila Popping, UWA
Larry Rudnick, University of Minnesota
Simon Driver, UWA
Yeshe Fenner, AAL
Brian Schmidt, ANU
Anne Green, University of Sydney

Ant Schinckel, CASS
Ivy Wong, CASS
Jill Rathborne, CASS
Ray Norris, CASS
Joanne Dawson, CASS
Alex Hill, CASS
Nick Seymour, CASS
Baerbel Koribalski, CASS
Brian Jeffs, CASS
Tasso Tzioumis, CASS
Keith Bannister, CASS
John Reynolds, CASS
James Caswell, CASS
Jimi Green, CASS
Adam MacLeod, CASS
Lewis Ball, CASS
Peter Kamphuis, CASS
Douglas Bock, CASS
Kate Chow, CASS
Thomas Franzen, CASS
Dave McConnell, CASS
Lisa Harvey-Smith, CASS
Aidan Hotan, CASS
Ron Ekers, CASS
Chris Phillips, CASS
Naomi McClure-Griffiths, CASS
Aaron Chippendale, CASS
Ettore Caretti, CASS
Simon Johnston, CASS
Sarah Pearce, CASS
Amy Kimball, CASS
Ben Humphreys, CASS

To register and for videoconference options, please contact the ASKAP Project Scientist, Lisa Harvey-Smith.

Back to top