Radio Astronomy Facilities in Australia

ATNF Facilities

The ATNF runs the main National Facility Radio Astronomy instruments on behalf of the Australian astronomical community. These include:

The Australia Telescope Compact Array (ATCA).

The Parkes Observatory.

The Mopra Observatory.

Other Australian Radio Astronomy Facilities

The Radio Astronomy Group at the Physics Department, University of Tasmania, runs 2 major radio telescope facilities:
-- The Mt. Pleasant Observatory near Hobart, Tasmania
-- The Ceduna Radio Observatory near Ceduna, South Australia.

The Canberra Deep Space Communication Complex (CDSCC), which includes a Radio Astronomy programme.

The Molonglo Observatory Synthesis Telescope (MOST), operated by the School of Physics of the University of Sydney.

The VLBI network

Almost all of these telescopes are often operated together as a Very Long Baseline Interferometry (VLBI) network, The Australian Long Baseline Array (LBA).


The ATNF also maintains an extensive list of links to Australian Astronomy and Science Sites.